I’m In The Art School (Cloud Nothings) & She Sends (Kisses)

March 17, 2010

Sure a ton of people are out at SXSW right now and having an amazing time. Check this for a night in Manchester though:

1. No Distance Left To Run on the BBC iPlayer
2. Barcelona V Stuttgart on the TV (On mute) – Leo Messi is a magnificent man.
3. Cup Of Tea and a Double Decker
4. Now NDLTR has finished, I have WOXY on with a Megaphonic Thrift session. Lovely chaps/ace band.

And now a couple of bands I have properly fallen in love with over the last month or so and a gig or two what I’ve seen.

Firstly you simply must check out Cloud Nothings. Based around the songs of Dylan Baldi, so far the band has only released one EP on Bridgetown Records but I really think/hope that things are gonna go pretty big for Dylan very soon. The EP called Turning On has not been far away from my ears for a good while now and with tunes like Hey Cool Kid and Whaddya Wanna Know you can see why. Give it a listen.

Secondly I probbaly should tell you that Kisses are fucking magnificent. There’s only one tune on their MySpace right now called Bermuda – as I emailed my friend a month or so ago “It’s very Jens but very good” (Jens being Jens Lekman for the slow kids at the back). His response was “It’s the sound of summer” – really blogging does not get more insightful than this. The always really cool Transparent label are giving Bermuda a single release soon and there’s an album doing the rounds if you know where to look online. (I just get James to find stuff like that for me so I can spend more time touching myself on Chatroulette)

Oh Oh Oh I also went to see the latest Manchester buzz band (TM) Wu-Lyf last month too. All it took was the whole music industry to cream themselves and descend on Manchester to get me to take notice. It was good…not great. I like the way they are doing things with cryptic websites and low key shows but right now the songs aren’t as big as their ambitions. They have a great sound though and they’ll probably be world beaters soon enough.

I also went to see Japandroids which was beyond awesome by the way. They were t-shirt good which is the highest honour I can bestow on a band.

Cheers you.

Pedro. x

If ALE was updated more than once a month I would have gone nuts for the following:

1. OMG NEW NATIONAL SONG/ALBUM/TRACKLISTING.

2. ANDREW WK PLAYS SOME FULL BAND GIGS!

3. NEW FOALS TUNE BEING RAD!

4. AVI BUFFALO LP AS GOOD AS I HAD HOPED WHEN WE FIRST BLOGGED ABOUT THEM AGES AGO.

Leave a Reply

