Planned Maintenance

July 19, 2010

I’m not sure what was more inevitable. Robbie’s return to Take That or my return to writing poorly thought through pieces on bands I like. Anyway, I should probably offer up some sort of explanation on my absence. The last couple of months have been full of a) job hunting b) soul searching c) world cup watching. All three took up a lot of my time and I rather neglected this corner of the internet. To the three readers of this blog I sincerely and humbly apologies. But to make up for it, here’s a bunch of ace stuff I have been bumming the last few months. Plus I have a couple of amazing posts coming up this week.  Also maybe one day I can join a mega blog like Altered Zones and become really fucking relevant! (Love your work guys!)

Firstly football – here’s my five favourite goals of the World Cup.

5) Okazaki – Japan V Denmark – Oh Honda – come play in the Premiership.

4) Klose – Germany V Argentina – the video kindly misses all the excellent build up play. (Love your work guys!)

3) Tevez – Argentina V Mexico – Wammo.

2) Villa – Spain V Honduras – I was eating some excellent Paella when this went in.

1) Quagliarella – Italy V Slovakia – A chip is the finest way to score a goal.

Before we move on to MUSIC. Let’s stop for a moment and post a picture of the new manager of Leicester City Football Club. Hi Paulo, u r hawt.

Now for a bunch of songs you can download that I have been enjoying very much recently. I think they have all been offered up for free on some blog or another. It’s all pretty obvious but all pretty good. I feel very guilty for putting these up without kind words, however I’m just trying to catch up with all the songs fizzing round my head. All bands are well worth you taking five minutes to find out more about them. Google is your friend.

Tennis – Marathon

CULTS – Oh My God

Dominant Legs – Clawing Up The Walls

D/R/U/G/S – Love (Love/Lust)

Harlem – France

Japandroids – Younger Us

Shine 2009 – New Rules

Sky Larkin – Matador (Acoustic)

Best Coast – When I’m With You

First Rate People – Orion

Minks – Funeral Song

And if you want more stuff to stream then go listen to the new Sir Yes Sir and Sky Larkin albums here and here – when the next pay cheque rolls in I will be buying both of these.

Finally it would be wrong to not mention Witch House – I mainly started listening to it because I thought it had a funny name but it really is worth doing some digging. For a good introduction I recommend clicking this link to the ace Don’t Make Lists blog and downloading the free mixtape. It features a couple of my favourite Witch House artists – TEARIST and Balam Acab.

Now we are cool again, I will hopefully post some more. Have fun listening.

P/M/J

Leave a Reply

